The IWA Local Council Development Area was carved out of the former Kajola Local Government on 27th February, 2017 by Governor Isiaq Abiola Ajimobi aiong other 34 LCDAs for grass root development. IWA was derived from the acronyms of the four principal towns of the area, Ilero, Ilaji-Oke, Iwere-Oke and Ayetoro-Oke with the Headquarter at Ilero. Other communities include Ayetoro Kowosi, Owode, Gboro, Idiayin, Sobaloju, Owawa, Olukotun, Kodanyi, Erin omo, Alakala, Roju, Alamutu, Aleniboro, Akoko, Aladikun, Irawo-Tedo, Olaore, Elijah, Babaoja, Ajana, Ago-Ilaji, Alapo, Agunyan-seja, Olamonija, Olojede, Oladokun, Oyewole, Ikorodu, Akanke, Sangodiran, Ago Popoola, Osin-Ago, Are-Ago, Oguntoye, Olomoyoyo, IyaAmodu, Idi Isin, Oke-Ale, Forekemi, BaaleAgbe, IsaleIwere, Baba Eleegun, Eleeko, Balogun, Akinteye, Maye, Oriyangi to mention but few. It has a population of about 40,607.
IWA Local Council Development Area in Oke-Ogun of Oyo State is located at longitude 70 20’E and 70 40’E and latitude 30 18’ and 30 25’. It is an area built on a ridge with latitude ranging from 150-275m. It is bounded by Kajola Local Government in the south, Itesiwaju Local Government in the West, Iganna Local Council Development Area in the East and Iwajowa Local Government in the North. The people of the council area are predominantly Yorubas, blessed with abundant human and natural resources. About 80% of the inhabitants are Arable Farmers with high pedigree of food and cash crop which earn them the appellation, “food basket of the nation”. As a result, Ilero plays host to the headquarters of Ogun-Osun River Basin Development Authority, National Agriculture Development Authority (NALDA) and Oyo State Agricultural Development Project (OYSADEP). Recently the council area is bubbling in cashew plantation begging for further development. The National Directorate of Employment (NDE) in conjunction with the LCDA had also acquired hectares of land to empower the youths on wealth creation. The Governor Oluwaseyi Makinde Agribusiness Scheme had also received the blessing of the LCDA for improved farm produce and marketing strategies.
The Agrarian philosophy informed IWA Local Council Development Area logo make up of Tractor, Hoe, Cutlass and Fruit. The proposed permanent secretariat is at Oke Paala but temporarily located at Oja Oba Garage Shopping Complex, Ilero with the following contacts; E-mail address:, Phone numbers: 07060463893, 08021264900 and 08142211585. It is rich in culture and notable tourist attraction like Odekunmodo Shrine and Ipogun River, Ahoro Ilero and hill. The LCDA is presently under the leadership of Hon. Gideon Omobolanle Oyediran.